In this knowledge-based society, knowledge means a lot of money. That is the reason why a lot of people choose to apply to a university for a more bright future. However, some argue that more people should be encouraged to take part in vocational training. In my opinion, I agree entirely with this idea.

Qualified workers play an integral role in our modern society. One primary reason is that there are countless construction projects that require the contribution of vocational employees. For example, new bridges or buildings need the contribution of these workers. If only academic workers are assigned to this task, the constructions are likely to fail since these workers do not have the same practical experience as those who have been through vocational training. Furthermore, human resources departments in corporations nowadays are prone to recruit workers who have been trained in their actual field of study. They need employees to have experience and can adapt effortlessly to their company culture. Thus, the role of vocational workers is becoming more and more important in the upcoming future.

Another reason is that the lack of trained workers is likely to lead to degradation in society. Issues such as household appliances error and facility degradation are not likely to be resolved if there are shortage of vocational workers applying for this working position. Another point is that, with many people engrossed in academic learning environments, the chance that there is a misbalance in the number of jobs may have the tendency to occur. The more people study an academic field and desire an academic job, the more the job pool of these specific occupations will probably be limited. This will lead to an increase in the unemployment rate of the entire nation.