It is sometimes argued that the ultimate goal of science is to improve the living standard of humankind. In my opinion, although there are numerous significant objectives that can be achieved by science, I completely agree that its paramount focus should be on people.

First of all, science is conducted and improved entirely by humans. Thus, it seems reasonable that humans should prioritize themselves first when it comes to what the goal of science is. Only if people's living standard is increased, then science can bloom and be developed into further stages that can deal with other problems. Some opponents of this idea may argue that without other elements, humans could not have survived, therefore, they must make other goals become top priority. However, this argument is not sound since without humans, science would not have developed. Consequently, humans must first help themselves first before any other goals.

Another reason is that by improving human lives, the Earth can also be in a better situation. For example, with the continuous technological breakthrough, many developed nations nowadays are switching to renewable energy sources such as wind power and solar power. This change in the habit of using energy leads to a reduction in the usage of fossil fuels to generate energy for daily human lives. Thus, this development will result in less carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, reducing the effects of global warming and helping to protect the Earth.

In conclusion, science is established and passed through many generations since the beginning of humankind. It is understandable that people set the criteria of improving their living environment first before other significant goals.