It is needless to say that media impacts significantly on people’s lives and opinions. It gradually becomes an indispensable part of social lives, and many people think that whoever controls media will have the ultimate power to affect attitudes. In this essay, both viewpoints will be proposed.

On the one hand, several bad influences are constructed when the media dominates the flow of information. First and foremost, mass media can drive citizens’ opinions subjectively. Take teenagers for example. They tend to be gullible and excitable by fake news, leading to misunderstandings and harmful behaviors like body shaming or insulting. Secondly, viewers’ lifestyles are shaped by multimedia and social media. To be precise, the youth might emulate their idols unreasonably, although that style is excessively comical.

On the other hand, certain people do not fall prey to falsely presented information. To begin with, well-educated intellectuals tend to be more skeptical, and they absorb news consciously. Put differently, they will judge whether the information is right or wrong before accepting and sharing. On top of that, there is no longer a monopoly on information ownership, so the inhabitants have more choices for information sources. Hence, the accuracy of news is increased. Additionally, mass media cannot brainwash civilians with sufficient profundity of knowledge as they can overcome general opinions. Last but not least, broadcasters and the press can only regulate what is printed and announced, but they cannot manipulate personal opinions.

To recapitulate briefly, although the media can be utilized as a tool of thought shaping, educated inhabitants can not be brainwashed. Therefore, if a person is equipped with sufficient knowledge, he or she cannot be misled.