Some people think that some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many asian parents agree that their children should be allowed to choose whether to study subjects such as mathematics and philosophy or not. This essay strongly disagrees with this opinion and the reasons will be further elaborated.

To begin with, mathematics is one of the most essential parts of the curriculum. This is because Math is closely related to every aspect of life, from the simplest thing like calculating numbers to macro scientific applications. Math also equips students with sharper problem-solving skills by improving their logical reasoning and critical thinking, which are useful in analyzing problems and coming up with solution-oriented approaches. On the other hand, philosophy plays a no less critical role in gearing students with the ability to do read closely, write clearly, detect flaws in reasoning and ask the right “why” question. Many studies have consistently demonstrated that children who study philosophy are more likely to achieve better academic results.

Yet, there are several reasons why parents may want these subjects to be optional. In Vietnam for example, the contemporary method of teaching math is highly academic and only revolves around solving equations and specific problems. Students are taught formulas and expected to perform well in exams and tests. This approach fails to show the relevance of math to day-to-day life and thus can not seem to generate the interest of students. However, this issue is gradually tackled by the governments’ effort in introducing STEM, a liberal educational program aimed to provide students with real-life applications of each subject. With STEM, lessons become not only more practical, but also more fascinating and stimulating.

To recapitulate briefly, the author strongly believes that the merits of learning math and philosophy far outnumber the disadvantages.