There is the statement that the most critical dilemma in the present is the extinction of individual species of creatures. However, others agree that there are more pressing issues that need to be addressed. In this essay, both views will be discussed.

It is needless to say that the disappearance of several rare species is one of the top alarming problems. Increasing animal deaths are caused by a lack of necessities like foods, water, a healthy habitat and the list goes on. Moreover, when the population of a species becomes too small, the natural reproduction is not enough to sustain it. Therefore, numerous species are driven to the verge of extinction, leading to multiple significant consequences. Many kinds of plants with medical values will be lost. More importantly, in countries like Vietnam, annual floods are becoming more and more severe due to the loss of forests and soil erosion, resulting in thousands of tragic deaths a year.

On the other hand, there are other alarming issues that can lead to catastrophic aftermaths. Firstly, overpopulation is a problem that should not be overlooked. Specifically, the substantial rise in population leads to series of issues such as lack of food, education, accommodations, employment, and the list goes on. The next problem is the greenhouse effect, which directly influences Earth and the environment. Take ozone layer depletion for example. The ozone layer is gradually getting thinner and the sunlight can harm human health. In addition, the growth of Earth’s average temperatures, sea levels and extreme weather conditions are threatening the existence of humankind.

To recapitulate briefly, the extinction of several rare species is alarming, and it has to be tackled as fast as we can. However, there are numerous problems that should never be underestimated.