The World of Work Is Rapidly Changing and Employees Cannot Depend On Having the Same Work or The Same Working Conditions for Life.

What Are the Causes and Ways to Prepare People to Work in The Future?

As the job market has become increasingly erratic, employees have to learn to handle such phenomenon rather than be committed to only one job or the same working environment into their old age. The main reasons behind this include the rise of technology and globalization, and to address such changes, one needs to regularly increase their employability and be ready to seize new opportunities.

Apparently, the advances in Intelligent technology and robotics, such as learning machines, has transformed many industries in terms of productivity. Now many manual jobs - such assembling car components - that were once performed by humans have been made automated. While such shift has significantly increased the output, it has also led to a higher level of joblessness. Furthermore, the spread of globalization allows multinational organizations to have some of their work outsourced to developing countries where the labor costs are relatively low. This development has helped these corporations remain price competitive but concomitantly meant heavy redundancies.

To be well-prepared for such seismic changes, one should adopt a range of strategies. First and foremost, education and training should be viewed as a lifelong process. Only by embracing this mindset, will one be eager to seek not only new opportunities to upskill and learn new technologies but also mentorship or informal education. This approach could enable a person to become upwardly mobile and remain unaffected by downsizing. More importantly, it is vital to inculcate a sense of entrepreneurship and adaptability into workers, as these qualities help them to identify business opportunities and learn how to take calculated risks. Although one might feel exhausted in continually finding new clients or projects, they will likely be prepared to pivot as the job market demands and be independent.

In conclusion, the evolving nature of today’s today workforce is being driven mainly by innovative technology and low-cost labor, and therefore the best way to be employable is to upgrade oneself with new skills and knowledge, and learn how to be financially independent as well as adaptable