Write a 5-paragraph essay on the following topic (500 words)

Friends vs Family members

Throughout the course of our life, we may run across or become attached to dozens of people, yet there are two kinds of relationships that are deemed to be the most significant ones: family and friends. Even though they seem to be of the same magnitude, they seem to be different in some ways.

The most obvious difference is the shared blood. Because family members share the same blood, they will opt to get together and resolve their disagreements after a conflict or debate. Perhaps the notion of being a family motivates each family member to the decision to resolve the problems rather than to become estranged from each other. In contrast, when a couple of friends get into an argument, especially a serious debate, it is a different story. It is possible that they will grow antagonistic toward one another, or even worse, they will start to gossip behind each other’s backs and reveal one another’s secrets. This will assuredly cause many unforeseen outcomes, such as bullies or mental health disorders like depression.

The attitude towards family members and friends is the second notable distinction. When interacting with our family, we will probably get irritated more easily. Why? Our family, especially parents, feels like scolding and shouting at every single mistake we make. Worse, some members of our family attack us for no purpose other than to amuse themselves. Hence, our emotions prompt us to feel hostility towards our family. However, whenever something bad happens, for instance, we get into some trouble that brings us dozens of negative consequences, it is our family members that stand by and support us at all times, regardless of our shortcomings. Conversely, we may find strangers engaging and trustworthy when we first meet them because of their tact and humor. Undoubtedly, we take an instant liking to them and share our daily stories with them, then we might consider them close friends. In case they are good friends, they will maintain a healthy relationship with us everytime we encounter any problem. If they are not, congratulations! It's more likely that we'll lose some buddies. What is more, it is possible that all of our errors and secrets will be shared widely.

Family members and friends, particularly good friends, on the other hand, share the same trait: they are amicable and may maintain a long-term relationship with us throughout our lives. Admittedly, regardless of numerous challenges, difficulties, or arguments, we are prone to attach to family members after all, and we are also likely to attach to friends in the same way. Besides bad friends, there are a large number of good ones who are inclined to be on your side and support you whatsoever. Furthermore, certain friends will most likely become our soulmates and stick with us for the rest of our lives, much more like the way family does for us.

Whatever we think, friends and family members play a significant role in our lives, even though they are different in some ways, such as the shared blood and our attitude towards them. However, we must admit that our family members and good friends might be all kind-hearted people who are prone to become our soulmates and attach to us for the rest of our lives.