Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays, the computer becomes an indispensable thing in our lives. There are many people think that these machines are the most crucial developments of the last centuries. I strongly agree with that statement, and this essay will support my view.

Firstly, computers help us work much faster and easier. This is because the computer has the ability to communicate quickly throughout the email service, which leads to a lot of information can be delivered in a very short time. Moreover, the invention of laptops, which can be carried lightly between every place, enables us to work anywhere. In addition, the appearance of some software that supports the video call function assists people can work from home with their partners. To take one example, in some scenarios like the Covid-19 pandemic, people just need to stay at home and use their computers to work instead of moving to the company.

Secondly, those computers give the community a great way to learn. In fact, there are many study resources on the internet which can be found by using computers, which creates a big chance for everyone who pursues self-study. Furthermore, thanks to some online learning systems, teachers and their students can correspond better, as a result, the education quality will be improved. For example, when students have some questions, they can use the computer to search for the problems, or directly ask their tutors via the online system.

In the conclusion, there are many important inventions which extremely help us in many aspects of our lives. However, with those aforementioned benefits, computers can be supposed to be the best inventions over centuries.