Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In our day and age, computer plays a vital role in every aspect of life. No one can deny that it is the most significant invention of the last century since it provides human ample opportunities to connect individuals from every nook and corner and access a variety of sources of information. However, beside the positive contributions, computer can be harmful if it is abused.

First of all, the most obvious positive contribution of computer is that it helps people interact with the other conveniently. In the past, people had to travel a long distance to visit their relatives. At present, thanks to the computer with the Internet accessed, we are able to meet and talk to our relatives and friends virtually whenever and whatever we want. This also a wonderful tool which helps us makes friends and maintains friendships more easily.

Secondly, computer is considered as the greatest library since it contains a huge amount of information. The ones who benefit most from this function are students and scholars. Ebooks on the Internet are available and accessible for them to refer relevant document as well as enhance knowledge about their area specialization. Thus, computer is a wonderful assistant for the ones who are self-taught.

However, computer also has its drawbacks. If people abuse computer, there are countless consequences steming from it. For example, insensitivity among human beings is becoming more and more serious because so many people focus too much on their virtual network but forget the actual one. Moreover, news and information on the Internet is not always trustworthy. Therefore, every single individual have to be cautious and choose the pretigious sources to update the lastest facts.

To conclude, everything has its pros and cons. Although computer has improved our life recently, it still has many potential negative influences if being abused. Therefore, we have to be smart to weigh the advantages impacts over the detrimental ones.