Write about the fossil fuels and their alternatives

For thousands of years, human know how to create fire by burning wood to warm up in cold winter. By the time, people have discovered more types of fuel such as coal, oil, gases, etc. and used them for many purposes. Although burning fuel promotes the industrial development, they make our environment worse. Some people say that for the economy, environment can be exchanged in some ways. Other claim that people must save the Earth by using alternative resources such as wind, solar and nuclear instead of fossil fuels. This essay will discuss my thought on this argument.

On the one hand, fossil fuels have a crucial role in humanity evolution. Wood is burned for warming up, cooking, lighting in the past to run the engines, refine ore, calcine limestone for cement, etc. Without them, human cannot survive to today and create building, tools, vehicle and road. Fossil fuels have their own strengths: easy to store and transport, large energy density, it don’t depend hardly on weather or technology like the alternatives and the low-cost investment in fossil fuel power plants. All of those make fossil fuel cannot be replaced for a while. According to the report in U.S in 2018, fossil fuel provides about 80% of energy that Americans need, which is massive if we compare it to 4% provided by solar and wind energy.

On the other hand, fossil fuel aren’t perfect energy sources. They need millenniums to form from dead creatures on land and under sea and they cannot produce in laboratory. Moreover, using fossil fuels discharge harmful gases like carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide which pollute the atmosphere and contribute to global warming. As the result, alternative energies are made to solve these problems. For instance, solar and wind energy are being invested by governments around the world parallel with biomass, fusion and geothermal energy. Germany is one of the pioneer in this revolution by given the law about renewable energy 30 years ago. Nowadays, Germany is one of the countries has the highest percentage of renewable in their total energy consumption.

In conclusion, fossil fuels still out weight the alternative energy in usage. However, with more concerning from people, more and more researches have been funded to shorten the distances between fossil fuel and renewable energy in cost, efficiency and storing in order to eliminate fossil fuel from the major energy resources in the future.