Write an essay comparing and/or contrasting two people, two places or two objects that have made a favorable impression to you. Be sure to write about your ideas in detail.

One of the most essential things when preparing for a vacation is luggage. It is an everlasting problem: should I carry my backpack, or just throw everything into a suitcase? When taking convenience and mobility into account, I personally think the backpack outweighs the suitcase.

From the convenience aspect, there are clear differences between the backpack and the suitcase. When the travelers need something inside the backpack, they have to take everything out. Unlike the neatly arranged items in the suitcase, one may prefer the suitcase more. But because the suitcase has a definite shape, it is too bulky to carry around during short trips, while the backpack’s size depends on the number of things it has, making it more flexible. The backpack is also generally made of cotton or nylon, which is significantly lighter than hard plastic, the material used to make suitcases. In conclusion, the backpack is a better choice for people that value convenience.

That leads to mobility. The suitcase is just not suitable for anyone that needs their necessities in reach. Its weight and inflexibility make it impossible to move in difficult landscapes, such as forests or mountains, in contrast with the backpack which is perfectly capable of it. Even walking in cities is hard, considering the suitcase has wheels, the carriers have to be careful not to roll over people’s feet. In addition, stairs also prevent the carriers from using the wheels, thus forcing them to lift the suitcase every step. To sum up, the backpack is preferable because it’s easier to carry, compared to the suitcase that doesn’t fit with any landscape.

To summarize, when considering the convenience and mobility, users may find backpacks more appealing. They are more appropriate for traveling, and they are also more affordable than suitcases.