Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skill should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree?

In the era of globalization, it is believed that writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. The fourth largest branch should be computer skill. I vehemently agree with this argument, and my rationale behind my viewpoint will be indulged in the forthcoming paragraphs.

First and foremost, it is an indisputable fact that computer skill may provide people easier access to become more self-assured in studying. This is because by knowing skills regarding computers, people no longer have difficulty in analyzing numbers or information quickly on this kind of device. As a result, they will never be underestimated by other people in this field. Evidence from recent research in Britain, for instance, suggests that nearly 600,000 students who are fully equipped with computer skill are extremely confident by virtue of being highly rated. Through this lens, it is understandable why people will attain a higher level of confidence in studying by learning computer skills.

Secondly, it is undeniable that computer skill is likely to enable students to be accessible to broaden their minds. That is to say, if students are in need of information about the subjects they are studying, they may use computer skill to have access to the Internet with the aim of searching for it. Consequently, they will acquire much knowledge about not only the subjects but also everything surrounding them. By way of illustration, according to the survey carried out by Queen’s University in Australia in 2013, approximately 245 students at this university admitted that thanks to computer skill, they could have much awareness of the world surrounding them. Hence, it is clear that being aware of computer skill can strengthen students’ knowledge.

In conclusion, the reasons cited above have justified why it is logical for computer skill to be the fourth largest branch.