Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skill should
also be the fourth largest branch.
Do you agree or disagree?
With the use of computers in almost every aspect of life, many people argue that computer skills are
becoming an important subject at school besides the holy trinity of writing, reading and math.
Personally, I agree with this opinion for a number of reasons.
To begin with, including computer skills as a compulsory subject at school can help students be better
prepared for their future career. In this era of technology, it goes without saying that computer literacy
is an indispensable requirement that almost every recruiter seeks in a resume. Therefore, in order to
gain and secure a decent job in the future, students definitely should have a good grasp of computers
skills such as Microsoft Office or internet and social media skills.
In addition, teaching computer skills at school means providing students with a versatile tool to be able
to have access to an almost unlimited source of knowledge and information. Students with computer
skills can get access to a large amount of online materials and also take advantage of distance learning,
which facilitates self-study. For example, my 12-year-old sister can now study English pronunciation on
Youtube channels at home by herself thanks to information searching skills she was taught at primary
school.
Finally, regarding entertainment and social life, being armed with just some basic computer skills,
students can also join social networking sites such as Facebook or Twitter to keep in contact with their
relatives who live far away or widen their circle of online friends. They can also approach a wide range
of music websites or online games to help relax after studying.
In conclusion, for the above mentioned reasons, I completely believe that computer skills should be
recognized as one of the more significant subjects besides the conventional ones like math, reading and
writing.