Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skill should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that computer skills should be considered as a main subject which is as essential as the three mandatory and traditional ones. In my opinion, I believe this argument is definitely correct and suitable in this technology era.

To begin with, reading, writing and mathematics are importantly fundamental for the students. These subjects provide the most necessary skills that people need for their future occupations. For instance, when an individual applies for a job, he will be required a detailed curriculum vitae which demands an exceptional writing skill to impress the interviewer. Moreover, these three subjects have been recognized as primary and traditional fields for decades. Thus, the requirement to achieve at least average-good level for a person from educational institutes is unquestionable.

On the other hand, since technology is fast developing every day, computer skills should be implemented in schools’ curriculum. Firstly, making computer science one of the four largest branches in education can attract attention from students. Most learners are under sixteen and they do not have any idea of how useful computer skills are for their lifetime career in the future. Therefore, every school council has to set this subject a must for the students’ studying program. Secondly, students also need to have a basic understanding of computer technology to catch up with the fast-paced advancement of computer industry. If people do not prepare these essential skills at early ages, they will be left behind in the race of finding jobs related to computers eventually.

In conclusion, I believe that computer science should be considered as the fourth major branch in education along with reading, writing and mathematics.