You should spend about 40 minutes on this task Write about the following topic: Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed that the environment is unlikely to be bettered by individuals; merely authorities and large companies can make an improvement. In the following essay, I will discuss both sides and put forth my viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is noteworthy that governments and companies with large scale can only spur volunteers to protect the environment nationwide. This is because when a large number of people, especially the young with great enthusiasm collect bottles, clean the streets or plant trees, the environment and atmosphere may be ameliorated. Another feasible explanation is that only authorities and large firms are likely to host sections regarding solutions to problems of our surroundings. For instance, according to the surveys carried out by Queen’s University, 200 sections are organized by governments, resulting in an increase in the residents’ awareness of the importance of saving the environment. Through this lens, it is understandable why the environment can be only improved by both governments and large companies.

On the other hand, those who disagree point out that not only authorities but also individuals may take actions which make great inroads in the environment and there are multifarious reasons to endorse this view. Admittedly, each person can encourage other people to save our surroundings by utilising social media. By posting information about the environment on Facebook or Instagram, a large quantity of people are able to have access to it; therefore, they will acquire much knowledge and start acting for a better planet. Another justification worth mentioning here is that every parent can teach their offspring about the world surrounding them when they were at the age of 5. By way of illustration, evidence from recent research in Britain suggests that approximately 100 children in each school of this country are aware of saving the planet by virtue of their parents’ teaching during their childhood.

All things considered, convincing as two viewpoints may appear at first, I am assured to say that beside governments and large firms, individuals can also fortify the environment effectively. This is more logic-based according to the above assumptions.