You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and

their personal lives.

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Today, the human society is presented with various challenges, which sparks a heated debate over the importance of taking risks in an individual’s both professional and personal lives. Despite its obvious disadvantages, risk taking does have more advantages, which I strongly advocate. The essay below will give an insight into the author’s personal perspective.

To begin with, there are certain drawbacks from the act of indulging oneself into risks, including severe consequences to their safety. This involves magnificent dedication of energy even a part of one’s own life only to seeking for any opportunities from certain challenges, posing inevitable threats to life guarantee. As harsh as such a safety problem, a waste of time, efforts and finances should also be included as another drawback. Although the quote ‘trials and errors’ holds the key position on the ladder to success, risk taking can consist of unnecessary stages to assess results from engaging with an issue, while the process can be shortened by acquiring related knowledge from the previous period. A common example for this is the case of Thomas Edison, in which his thousands of failed experiments could have been greatly reduced by finishing comprehensive education at school, while his success of light bulb innovation would have been achieved earlier. The given evidence can clearly suggest any wary consideration of risk taking should be made before carrying out the act into reality.

Notwithstanding the disadvantages, the advantages are still dominate in the practice of adapting challenges. One of these is self development, where a person can upgrade their levels of patience, hard work and bravery after an issue addressed before. Moreover, given the quote ‘practice makes perfects’, any risks can be a task to be fulfilled in the reality. This means that through various stages of making attempts into achieving set goals, an individual might arouse within themselves a sentimental sense of honors to their own hard work, therefore creating steady movements forwards on the path to success. For instance, through heavy allocation of time and efforts into study, many students in developing countries are able to achieve 100% scholarships to renowned global universities and colleges. Given the analysis above, it is clear that the positive impacts of risk taking indeed outweigh the reverse counterparts.

In conclusion, from the mentioned explanations, it evidently appears that the adaptation of challenges introduces more benefits than drawbacks to the daily life. In the future, as people’s recognition and academic levels are raised more significantly, the practice of adapting challenges will be popularised and carried out effectively.