You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic

Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world’s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

I am in consummate accord with the statement that, the Earth’s natural green reserves purify its atmosphere and functions synonymously as that of the mammalian lungs. I also advocate the view that, forest destruction will ruin our present world.

Firstly, from our basic knowledge of plant physiology, it can be restated that, plants by the process of photosynthesis convert the harmful carbon-dioxide gas into Oxygen, without which life cannot exist. Thus in a wider perspective, it can be stated that, the earth’s forests purify the atmosphere and thereby help in sustaining life. Secondly, environmentalists have proven that, the rapid destruction of forests is also a leading cause of global warming. Hence, destruction of the natural green reserves may lead to such a surge in the global temperature that agricultural land may become arid, leading to wide spread famine and deaths. Thirdly, forests also house diverse forms of life and these would become extinct if we continue to destroy their natural habitats.

Furthermore, scientific research have proven that forest ecosystem act as natural scavengers and by the process of biodegradation, forest ecology helps in producing crude oil, which fuels our modern world and its unavailability is unimaginable as this will directly catalyse a global economic crisis. Finally forests are also source of numerous medicinal plants, from which varieties of modern medicines are produced; Quinine, an antimalarial drug, produced from the barks of Cinchona trees is the best possible example. Hence forest destruction will also be a bane for the medical community.

Thus the harmony of the present wonderful will be ruined if our natural green reserves are continuously destroyed and there is a theoretical possibility that the blue planet might become lifeless if these green lungs are totally wiped out.