You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

It is undeniable that hosting international sports events can produce a handful of issues for the hosting nation. There are many people who believe that these types of occasions are nothing but a wastage of valuable time and money. However, I consider the international sports events as an excellent opportunity for the hosting country to earn recognition and economic benefits.

Hosting international sports events open doors for tourism. There are many people around the globe who are sports fanatic and are more likely to travel to another country which is hosting their favourite sports to watch the games live rather than on TV. If they have free time, they may visit the tourist spots and thus enable the state to earn huge sum of money. Secondly, the cost of plane fare and hotel stay will only add more monetory value to the hosting country's economic development. Thirdly, the sales of different products from shops near the stadium or hotel or even in the shopping malls will increase significantly as the sports lovers will buy gifts and souvenior for their families. As a result, the hosting nation will gain the economice stability it was in need of. For instances, the shop owners near the stadium in Dhaka reported to have sold jerseys and related materials up to five fold during the T20 World cup in 2011 which was held in Bangladesh. Besides, the shopkeepers tend to hike prices of goods if they have high demand which allow them to earn more.

On the other hand, hosting international sports events can cause situations like traffic congestion and security issues. Not only the office workers might take leave to watch the games on site but also they become unproductive during the office hours by spending time on TV or mobile to get sports update.

In conclusion, every action has both good and bad impact on community. Likewise, major events like hosting the international sports matches will lead to positive and negative outcome on our society. As it is clear that hosting such festivals are very beneficial to the hosting state, the government sshould make arrangement like this more frequently.