You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Organizing any sports event in one country has always been a debatable topic. Some people are of a view that such events should be encouraged while some say this is not a good thing for a country. I believe hosting such events can be beneficial as it gives global exposure to the country worldwide ,thus including ways to generate extra source of income.

To embark with the positives, world level recognition of any country plays a pivotal role in any country's development. Hence, organizing a international sports event in a country can make people aware and also motivates them to visit that particular country to witness their likeable sports event at a different location. This in turn boosts the tourism of a nation, generating income for the tourist guides, hotels, restaurants and ancient or locally made products.For instance, During cricket tournaments, cricketers on India visit hosting countries along with their immediate family and also makes sure to visit the known places of those economies.

However, it is believed that this organizing of events can reduce the importance of the local games. To add , the international sports get more publicity as compared to local games,for example, Cricket is a popular sport in India but football isn’t a national level game here. So people would acknowledge more cricketers and would not be fascinated to know any footballers, thus leading to a shift in downward trend for a local event. To conclude, nobody would call a local footballer in any opening of a stadium, but would rather invite a cricketer to the inauguration.

To conclude, international events has both views that are in favour and against the hosting of such events. I firmly believe the merits are more than the de merits as it involves world wide credibility for a hosting country making every nation to believe in their work and culture.