People think that criminals who are still under age at the time they commit crimes should be treated like those who are older. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea although all criminals must pay for what they have done.

There are some aspects of young criminals that people should take a closer look. The reasons for under age people to commit crimes are not as intentional as adults. For example, some people have the urge to pick pocket just because they need money for food since they are homeless and have not eaten for several days; or kids steal bicycles because they find them cool and want them badly. In addition, young criminals still do not have the ability to fully control their behaviors. Reports of a few serious murder cases show that young murderers did not think it through at the moment the incidence happened.

While it is true that all crimes must be brought to justice regardless to age, but young criminals should not be treated the same as older ones. Firstly, adults have taken full control of their actions when they commit crimes. That means they intentionally do bad things and have already known the consequences after crimes are committed. In contrast, under age criminals are usually under some pressure that they cannot make right decisions at that very moment. Secondly, by treating young ones with sympathy and forgiveness, we give them an opportunity to redeem themselves and become better men, while adults often decline any education given. For example, a majority of young prisoners have adapted to new lives and most of them can find jobs after getting out of jail. On the contrary, olders criminals tend to commit crimes again soon after they are released.

In conclusion, I believe that young criminals should not be treated the same as older ones.