Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to a natural environment. Discuss some of the arguments for and/or against keeping animals in zoos.

The necessity to place animals in captivity, away from their natural habitats for human entertainment has often times been considered as inhumane and cruel. On the other hand, where zoos may be subject to frequent criticism, they also have positive aspects that are frequently disregarded.

A major criticism of zoos is that they deprive animals of the ability to roam freely and fully attain the natural animal instincts critical to survival, such as hunting and scavenging for food. In so doing, zoos are accused of rendering animals entirely dependent on human care, which is sometimes detrimental to the animals' health and can lead to starvation. On the other hand, certain zoos only aim at rescuing animals that would otherwise not survive in the wild for a number of reasons such as the loss of a mother. These zoos provide them with a nurturing environment and re-introduce them into the wilderness once they have matured.

Another argument is the commercial aspect of zoos, whereby some animals are conditioned to perform certain activities under harsh treatment by their trainers. This alters the stability of the animals' psychological state and in some situations, renders them harmful. Several occurrences support this view, such as instances where otherwise docile animals have suddenly attacked a trainer or zoo visitor and have had to be shot or otherwise restrained. However, regardless of commercialisation, zoos have contributed to educating society about certain animals that would not naturally exist in close proximity to humans. The zeal to visit zoos to see such animals has led to children growing up to become animal activists, veterinarians and zoologists.

In conclusion, although some may call for the closure of zoos, many of the animals on the food chain would cease to exist without them as they would succumb to the law of natural selection or fall prey to hunters' insatiable need to kill for meat, hides and ivory.