Some people consider sports to be their career and role in the society. For others it is mostly a workout to keep fit. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports play a large role in society. They are the means by which certain people earn a living, and for others, a way to stay healthy. Both approaches come with benefits as well as drawbacks.

Certain sports like football and basketball have become so famous that they are known as career sports, and have attained the title of the highest paying jobs. Footballers and basketball players are among the richest individuals globally and being on popular teams provides them with a platform to make an impact on certain world issues. Many players, for instance, have used their influence to bring about awareness to global issues such as climate change, world poverty, and hunger. They have started charities aimed at improving people’s lives and have become role models and symbols of hope for some of the most distraught people on the planet.

On the other hand, those not playing professionally, while not accumulating wealth, still reap the benefits of staying fit. They have improved lifestyles, live healthier and longer, and also tend to enjoy playing sports as a pastime activity. For some, athletic activities such as running and swimming can be a way to unwind after a stressful day or a way to connect with friends and family, while others who have had a limb amputated or are suffering from certain disorders like paralysis may use such activities for physical rehabilitation.

Though many argue that it is better to earn while playing rather than spend money on buying sporting gear and equipment, in my opinion, it is better to engage in a sport for fun. Those that play for money tend to lose sight of why they began playing in the first place and it turns into a race for who can be the most popular or richest. Furthermore, after sustaining injuries, professional players tend to find themselves out of a job, sometimes without another career to fall back on. Playing for fun however, sets a certain goal for people, whether it be for leisure purposes or for staying fit, and after this goal is achieved, people are free to go back to their chosen career path without feeling like they have let themselves down.