Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Evolution and technological advancement have come a long way in ensuring that man lives a life of convenience. Whereas man started out by scavenging for food, nowadays, food preparation is much faster and easier. This is definitely as a result of many modern inventions we have come to associate with every household’s kitchen: the fridge, microwave, cooker and oven, among others.

Modern kitchen appliances allow us to prepare and store food effortlessly, with a mere click of a button or turn of a toggle. The fridge makes provision for the preservation of food items by cooling or freezing, making them last longer. The microwave is then used to defrost or warm up already stored food items in just a few seconds. Where the fridge and microwave are for freezing and defrosting, the cooker and oven are for cooking with heat. Nowadays, many electric ovens and pressure cookers render the average cooking time only a few minutes long. This reduces the amount of physical effort required to start a fire and labour intensively over the preparation of a meal.

Apart from kitchen appliances, the considerable ease with which food is prepared nowadays can be attributed to the type of food itself. With so many people lacking adequate cooking skills, a variety of already semi-prepared, packaged and frozen meals are available in stores. Perhaps the most famous of them is the Indomie instant noodles. One only needs to buy a packet, place it in the microwave for a few minutes and sit down to enjoy an instant meal. For those that prefer to cook their own meals, however, having cooking ingredients already washed, cut up, or blended increases convenience. For instance, many people prefer to buy frozen chicken parts, assorted vegetables, tomato paste, or canned mushrooms to use in cooking, thereby making cooking easier and faster.

In conclusion, despite the inarguable advantages of easy to use kitchen appliances and pre-packaged foodstuff, there is a grave drawback as to how human health has been affected. Where on one hand, humans are more relaxed and have more time for their daily activities; an exposure to modified food items has resulted in the genetic modification of human biology. Therefore, certain diseases like cancer will only be on the increase unless considerable effort is put into controlling the amount of pre-packaged, modified or microwaveable food we consume on a daily basis.