Since the 18th-century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology, this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that the evolution of technology has led to a drastic change in the way manpower is utilized, but development in technology does not encourage unemployment. However, there is a definitive change in the type of jobs current industries offer. Due to this factor, a big pool of unwanted labours get shed-off.

It is totally an agreed fact that most of the major and frequent jobs of 18th and 19th century do not exist in the current employment market. For example: digging coal mines. Earlier, back in the days when the fuel ignited machinery was not a convenient part of manufacturing and production, all the major coal mine corporations used to hire a large amount of physically well fit labour was hired to dig deep into the land for coal. This job required good physical strength, ability to work the hammer, pulling carts and bearing extreme weather. Though this job was an honest day's pay, it also had its drawbacks and the most concerning one out of them were the risk of human life. Many died or succumbed to their injuries in this line of the profession when they encountered accidents.

This issue was eradicated by introducing the use of drilling machinery, cranes and bulldozers. They served the purpose of drilling the ground, lifting the heavy material and breaking the hard stuff respectively. Surely, this resulted in a massive drop-down in the employment of physical labour for digging purposes, but it also assured a safer and much more reliable source of production for all humans in general. Also, it created employment in the field of machinery manufacturing like engineers, artisans, drivers etc.

To sum up, the advancement in technology does cut off a few job roles from the market, but it also creates safer, easier and interesting jobs parallel across the industries.