Many people believe that social networking sites (facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree

It is common knowledge that social media platforms have an adverse effect on local communities. I strongly believe that the craving of being online always is changing the way people communicate with each other, leading to anxiety and depression. In the following essay, I will first highlight the ill effects of social media on human health and follow it up with why we should exercise caution while using the internet.

To commence with, humans were always meant to be social, they were meant to meet, interact, discuss, debate, share their views, concerns, happiness and sadness with each other. With the advent of the internet, the social activity of humans has people physically, talking to each other verbally, understanding emotions has created a void in the hearts and is leading to the deterioration of human health. This is easily proved by the spurt of cases of people suffering from anxiety-related mental illnesses which are actually ironical considering that technology was considered(envisaged) to have brought people closer. Man requires social interaction and changing the medium to something convenient like the internet is proving detrimental.

Although the internet has proved to be a boon for most, it has its fair share of problems. It is easy to impersonate and trap unsuspecting teenagers and senior citizens. Today’s news is full of crimes related to finance, relationships, harassment and abductions which are perpetuated over the internet. It is better to be safe than sorry and hence we should exercise caution online.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that social media is a vice which should be used with caution in order to ensure the well being of humans. Though It gives people a sense of freedom to talk around the world, it has severe negative effects, as most of the people opt to talk using technology due to their busy lifestyle, which increases the distance in their relationship