The advantages brought by the spread of English as a "global language" will outweigh the disadvantages. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is no doubt true that English language has already played a dominant role in the world. Some people argue that this social phenomenon is not a good trend while others hold an opposite idea. This essay will discuss both of these two opinions.

On the one hand, English language is essential in our daily life in terms of work, study, and life. Many international corporations choose English as their business language during numerous commercial conferences; a lot of prestigious universities select English as their main teaching language; English boards and signs can be found everywhere in a big city. People use English to transfer their ideas and feelings, to achieve business targets, and to gain more teaching resources. Needless to say, English is very important, and users should give priority to learn this language.

On the other hand, it may also be harmful to the cultural diversity. There are millions of countries with diverse languages. If citizens all over the world used the same language, they might lose their valuable cultural heritage. For example, many American Indian languages have permanently vanished after cultural assimilation because stronger and bigger language has a huge impact on smaller countries. This could definitely be a huge loss to all human beings.

In conclusion, by introducing English language, people can be provided with the opportunities to talk to and learn from each other; however, people should also take action to preserve or revive their mother tongue.