Advertisements have impacted our modern world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of advertisements.

Advertisements have become an effective element for businesses around the world; the modern age has been impacted by advertising in several ways. Merits and demerits will be discussed below.

On the positive side, advertising is an efficient marketing tool which can easily inform customers about their demands’ choices. In other words, different kinds of advertisements through television, signboards and websites help people to have a wide choice to get their requirements; therefore, they can make a choice without the need to go to markets. Moreover, it helps consumers to buy their needs online after getting the information about any item from advertisements’ tools. For instance, two years ago, I purchased my previous mobile after watching many advertisements about it on YouTube channels.

On the negative side, advertising can provide misleading information and fake claims about products in order to raise their sales. Not only does advertisement encourage excessive consumption but also it creates a gap between community members. As an illustration, it has the ability to easily reach consumers from different financial statues and different generations. Furthermore, children have been influenced by products’ variety through commercials and add pressure on their parents’ shoulders to buy their requirements. For example, my friend said that he bought his son a toy online and he found that it did not have the same features as the advertisement showed.

In conclusion, the power of advertising has shifted the balance from the hands of a few to the masses. Therefore, people should be more careful about the negatives and the positives of advertisements. It is highly recommended that people should focus on their needs and not getting influenced by the spreading of commercials and purchasing products they do not need.