"In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books."

In our modernized era, televisions have invaded our life and become the most popular tools for entertainment and education. In fact, watching TV has been preferable to reading books by most people in the present time .

In the past, learning or amusement by reading books was one of the most effective and widespread methods. Even for children, telling bedtime stories by one of their parents was a habit that could not be skipped. Moreover, reading played a major role in widening the gates for the passionate pioneers to explore the unknown and create new inventions that were milestones in the industrial and technological revolutions.

Nowadays, television is a powerful medium of mass communication, as television offers a variety of intriguing, entertaining and attention- stealing TVS genres such as movies, talk shows, documentaries..etc. Basically, anyone can choose his favourite TV genre by pushing the button on the remote control and watch it for hours. More and more people are considering TV programmes a source of enjoyment and education. Therefore, reading books has become a habit that is done by minority of people.

In my opinion, watching TV can not be as beneficial as reading books. It is clear that, the TV business is seeking financial success on favour of morality. An obvious illustration of that is the ethical decline of the content of some films or advertiments. However, news and documentaries may give valuable information that keep us updated with the current events and the latest discoveries in many fields. On the flip side, reading will always be the most effective and efficient way for education and enlightenment.

In a nutshell, regardless of the harmful effects of watching some of the TV messages on people’s minds, most of them would much rather watch TVS than read books. Moreover, less and less people are using TV as a good learning tool, instead , TV is the number one time killer in the world.