Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society.

In the past, families used to be closer and more connected then they are today. People used to care more about keeping their family bonds strong, they used to share the changeable life events to gather whether in hard times or In good times. Therefore, maintaining this bond was one of the significant features in people’s life in the past.

In today’s materialistic world, people tend to be more and more preoccupied with their work in order to secure them selves financially. Thus, they spend most of their times at work. Moreover, the trend of personal development urge people to spend their free times in developing personal skills or doing work-related activities which leaves no time for families to be together.

Also, the technological invasion of our lives in forms of; TVS, radios, smart phones and internet definitley has a hand in weakening family ties, as it keep us rather distracted, isolated and stared on some screens. Online Social media websites as Facebook have played a part in changing the way of connecting between family members.

For instance; family members used to more often visit each other’s houses or contact with each other via phone calls. But with the presence of social media; sending messages to check on our relatives has become the most common way of communication that has helped people to get closer in the virtual world but be apart in the real world.

The advantages of this trend do not outweigh the disadvantages, because this trend results in many emotional and pschology problems in different age groups but the most influenced groups are children and older people who need the emotional support and attention. Furthermore, many psychological researches suggested that having a good relationship with family members could be one of the main cures for many psychological disorders such as anxiety disorder and chronic stress disorder.

To sum it up ,presently, the family life is suffering from disconnection between its members and having weaken family ties that both have become features of our modern world. Many findings encouraged people to spend quality times with their families to get support or prevent plenty of psychological disorders that may be caused by this unusual isolation and coldness in humans ‘social lives. As a practical solution for this disturbing trend, we must prioritise our times with our families.