All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them.

Do you agree or disagree?

With advancements in technology and progression in aspects of innovation and modernization, it is generally argued that the use of electric automobiles ought to be a substitute for the fuel powered vehicles, and that these cars with hydrocarboned energy source should be completely discouraged and taken out of existence. I do, however, completely disagree to this argument because electric powered vehicles are very expensive and requires constant electric supply to keep them running, which I believe is not sustainable in many developing and under developed countries across the globe.

Firstly, there is a good deal of evidence that these cars with renewable energy source like electricity are exorbitantly high probably because of the technicality and complexity required in manufacturing them. In other words, purchasing electric cars may become difficult for most of the global audience living in poorer countries, making it difficult to commute from one place to the other, especially for those that travel a far distance to earn a living. Consequently, consistent punctuality in the workplace may become a major challenge for many people, and ultimately causing their career to suffer.

For instance, in 2013, the UK government published a report about consumer’s behaviour and reactions to the production and sales of electric vehicles within the country, and the conclusion of the report was that over 75% of the average population could not afford acquiring an electric car due to its increased cost. This has made most of them settle for the fuel powered ones, which they considered more affordable.

Secondly, electric cars

require continuous electricity for effective management. That is to say, most economies, such as in the developing and under developed countries, that lack constant power supply will definitely find it challenging to embrace this innovation, and that would become an extra national responsibility and concern, taking into consideration that there are many other economical challenges to be overcome. This development would not be healthy for countries that struggle to maintain stability, and may lead to some adverse ramifications if electric cars are made mandatory.

Nigeria, for example, has been facing many social responsibilities for a number of decades now, including inadequate power supply, and replacing fuel cars for electric vehicles is almost not feasible.

To conclude, I reiterate my point by stating that banning vehicles using petrol source completely for electric cars should not be encouraged, as the average populace and many economies all over the world may suffer greatly due to its high price and demanding power respectively.