Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed countries have debated whether physical abilities are more relevant to progress in sports such as running, basketball, lawn tennis etc when compared to mental stability. In my opinion, I think physical strength helps to move the body, and surmount endless barriers. This essay will discuss both views using examples from a possible scenario and The Times newspaper to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, there is almost daily evidence that a stable physical state enables one to successfully perform various tasks, and I agree. In other words, no matter how tasking and enervating sporting activities may be, people with immeasurable physical vigor tend to move even faster than the imagined. Olympic swimmers, for example, consume appreciable quantity of glucose in order to acquire enough strength needed to successfully display their acrobatic skills. Therefore, sports involving great agility is rarely achievable even with a stable mental state.

On the other hand, it is sometimes thought that mental strength is necessary to attain success in sports because perseverance is a state of mind. People are encouraged more when they persevere and determine within themselves that they are capable. Another reason why mental stability is relevant is because it helps to remove any fear that may arise. Having to compete with skillful opponents alone results in increased tension and fear, which requires someone with a stable mindset to overcome. A recent article published by The Times newspapers revealed that during training, coaches encourage athletes to imagine and consider themselves a winning team prior to the actual day of their competition in order to suppress all fears.

In conclusion, while people may have various viewpoints, I think that people with great energy perform excellently well in sports than those with mental strength.