An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It has become a general norm that more and more educational institutions are continuously embracing the use of digital devices like laptops and tablets instead of the traditionally written and printed materials. However, there are both potential benefits and drawbacks to this trend. Firstly, this essay will discuss how gadgets make learning easier, and also, make room for virtual classes via the Internet. Secondly, it will further elaborate on some of the challenges to be overcome.

Teachers in most universities and high schools across the globe find their work very easy, as students learn with laptops and tablets. This is because unlike notebooks, they do not have to pass through the stress of writing on the board or preparing a lesson note. In addition to this, class discussions and activities can be conducted online, meaning that it does not require the physical presence of both the teacher and students. From my personal experience, teachers connect with students from home when necessary. We had project discussions, assignment corrections, exam revisions and many more via the zoom app, an online platform for meetings.

Conversely, while there are several advantages to this technology, the multifold disadvantages cannot be denied. Generally speaking, many students are reluctant to pen down notes, which ordinarily is not so when using notebooks to gather information. For instance, less sophisticated high schools these days demand that all students must submit there class projects on a written sheet of paper, and this encourages them to write frequently. Another negative impact of this trend is that a lot of students may not have a note to make reference to while preparing for examinations, consequently leading to an unexpectedly low performance. It is therefore expedient that key points are written down for reference purposes even when using a device in class.

In conclusion, although there are substantial imparts of computer and tablet usage, it ultimately results to laziness and low performances in examinations.