Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed countries have debated over the relevance of investing public funds into profitable ventures. Although it is sometimes thought that government ought not to invest in music and theatre because it is considered to be a waste, other people believe that investments into public services are more beneficial. In my opinion, I think that the government should channel more efforts into public services as they are relatively affordable and are more sought after in almost all sectors in the economy.

Firstly, every sectors of the economy are constantly in need of civil services due to its affordable rates. With capital investments to set up and equip government facilities, people are more inclined to pay less for quality services, contrary to the skyrocketing charges being imposed by private organizations. A recent article published by The Times newspaper reported that there has been a surge in the number of children in the slum who enrolled in schools throughout the federation because of the cheap tuition fees. This gives room for the entire populace, including the poor to benefit from.

Secondly, there is almost daily evidence that the inputs of most civil servants such as teachers, farmers, healthcare workers, etc are better felt, appreciated and sought after by the general masses. In other words, these civil services help to solve and provide essential and daily needs that are necessary for survival. Indigent masses especially in the countryside, for instance, rely on developmental schemes and opportunities set by the government to eradicate poverty in the economy. This is something that theatre and music cannot yield, and as such, are not of great concerns.

To recapitulate, I believe that investments in public services are extremely necessary because of its affordability and impact to the general populace.