The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree???

The importance and popularity of ecommerce has become increasingly common over time, which will lead to the extinction of traditional stores in both towns and cities in various geographical zones. Personally, I consider this partially true because offline stores, maybe fewer, will always exist notwithstanding the increasing number of online shopping. This essay will discuss both sides using examples from The Vanguard newspaper to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On one side of the argument, there is almost daily evidence that people, especially the youths, are more inclined to purchase their daily needs and wants (such as designer wears, electronics, electrical appliances, beauty and skincare products) online due to the potential benefits associated with it. The time management and ease in purchasing items at the comfort of their homes irrespective of their locations, are potential growth drivers, giving them the opportunity to take up other daily activities. Consistent with this line of thinking, discounts and promotional campaigns are mostly offered in online sales which significantly attracts target audience within various parts of the country and the world at large. For instance the number of internet users in Nigeria has skyrocketed over the past decades, according to a survey report by The Vanguard newspaper. When asked the reason for their online engagement, over 90% of users confirmed products shopping and services to be their most priority. As a result, ecommerce is projected to steadily gain presence even in the future.

Conversely, although there are significant benefits in online shopping, the multifold advantages of traditional or conventional means of shopping cannot be denied. This is largely because there are some purchases that requires to be sampled, felt or seen in order to make a better decision. To cite an example, foodstuffs, fruits and the texture, size and thickness of some clothing fabrics are sensitive products that are selectively assessed before purchase, which if not well sorted out, would result to a total waste. This makes the presence of stores very significant in any region of the world.

To recapitulate, I reiterate my point by saying that although online sales have surged significantly over the years, more and more people will always patronize offline stores for their daily expenses.