Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated over the need for students, who just completed their secondary education, to have enough time for leisure or to acquire technical skills and knowledge prior to pursuing further studies at the university. This essay will first highlight certain benefits associated with this argument, followed by the challenges they would inevitably face.

On one side of the argument, there is almost daily evidence that people with hands-on experience and technical skills are in high demand especially in the ever dynamic and competitive coporate settings. These acquired skills will ultimately give them an edge over others, expose and groom them to becoming the best in areas of their expertise even as a fresh university graduate in the later years. For instance, a significant number of employers consider hiring a novice to be a waste of time and resources because extra efforts are needed to organise top-notch training sessions in order to prepare the best fit for the job, according to a recent report by The Daily Times newspaper. As a result, more and more experienced hires would be sought after than those with little or no experience.

Conversely, although there are significant benefits to becoming more exposed prior to obtaining a graduate degree, its multifold downsides cannot be denied. Firstly, such a person may lose interest in further studies, which would become a hinderance to exponential career growth. More so, procrastination in seeking admission into a university may set in order to gain total satisfaction. For example, an extensive study by students in the psychology department, University of Cambridge demonstrated exponential rise in the number of teenagers who went into skill acquisitions after their secondary education over a five-year period. Because of this, the purpose of becoming a graduate may be defeated.

To recapitulate, although the exposure of life after high school brings about positive developments, procrastination and loss of interest can hinder future plans.