‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’

How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Few topics are more important to parents than their children’s overall development, and the topic of learning a foreign language would probably always be controversial. However, it seems to me that the sheer cost, and unavailability of opportunity to use the foreign language in daily life makes this an impractical aspiration for many parents.

Perhaps the major obstacle for the learners would be not having enough opportunity to practice the foreign language in routine communication. Therefore, they will not learn the different usage of words and phrases in the country where this language is spoken. Also, without having a regular practice of speaking, kids tend to forget the language eventually. In addition, the tuition cost of learning a foreign language can be prohibitive, especially if there are only few tutors available who teach that language. Look at India for instance, a country where almost nobody speaks Chinese, the cost to hire a Chinese tutor can be expensive. Poor families cannot afford to pay such expensive fees. Finally, children already suffer with huge workload from their schools and other extra curriculum activities. Having another difficult task such as learning a completely foreign language will leave no time for them to play games or enjoy their childhood.

Admittedly, I do agree with those who argue that learning a foreign language can help children in their cognitive development and increase employment opportunities in future. However, this aspiration suffers significantly when confronted by social and financial reality.

Overall, it seems more logical that the decision to teach a foreign language to children should be based on family circumstances, and the ability and interest of the kid, rather than a general belief that “all children” should learn a foreign language. This in my opinion serves the best interest for the kid and the parents.