Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the

causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Poor literacy rate remains to be the major issue for many nations around the world. There seem to be two main causes for the issue, and several consequences which will be discussed in this essay.

Perhaps the major cause here is the negligence of the government towards education. The funds given to build new schools and to run existing educational institutes are not enough. We can look at India for instance, where 20% of its population has never been to schools and does not even know basic reading and writing skills. However, the official data shows that the fund invested in buying military weapons is far more than the education fund. A further well-known issue is the ever-increasing cost of living, medical and school fees. Many poor families struggle to even bring food to their table. Therefore, they cannot afford to send their kids to school.

The impact of the illiteracy on an individual as well as whole society can be quite serious. Firstly, illiterate people in general struggle to earn decent amount. This results in a poor living stand for themselves and their families. Another widely-observed consequence is increased crime rate. The illiterate people often cannot find employment and they tend to indulge into inappropriate income sources such as robbery, theft and murders. This makes the whole society feel unsafe and in danger. Finally, poor literacy rate may also result into lack of professionals such as engineers, teachers, lawyers and doctors without whom a nation cannot really function well.

Overall, the factors such as negligence of the government, prohibitive school fees and ever-rising cost of living seem to be the main causes for poor literacy rate. Consequently, it puts the whole society and the illiterate individuals in a vicious circle which is difficult to escape.