Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Education is an integral part of people's life. Illiteracy is always a significant issue for many nations; there are a lot of causes for it. Not only does it effect on males and females lives but also it has a detrimental impact on society. This essay will first look at the economic problem which is one of the causes of Illiteracy, and then discuss its impact on culture and society before reaching a conclusion.

To begin with, there are many causes for illiteracy but if I choose one then it is economic problems. As an illustration, developing countries have some financial conflicts which have a quite impact on the education processes. In addition to that, people in these countries have law income which leads them to push their children to work and leave schools in order to support their families. This can be witnessed in Egypt where fathers and mothers work more than 12 hours to get at least their need for food and housing; they cannot find enough money to send their children to schools. Furthermore, the high prices of foods and essential items play an important role when it comes to children's work at an earlier age and leave the education.

When it comes to the effects of the above- mentioned issue on the community, It can say that it has a huge impact on cultural identity. In other words, there is a gap between learners and uneducated which makes a cultural conflict among them. Moreover, it may lead to racialism among community members. Besides that, illiteracy effects on countries’ developments. Finland is a prime example for the most developed country because it tackled the education issue, and it has zero percent of illiteracy. Hence, it is important to kill the illiteracy to raise community standards.

It can be concluded that illiteracy is concerned by most countries in the whole world; it has its negative effect on people and community standards, and the mean reason of that is economic issues. It is recommended that authorities should lunch awareness campaigns to Minimize illiteracy in order to tackle this problem.