Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Education is a basic necessity for a nation to progress.But,unfortunately lack of a good quality system has triggered to increase in amount of illiteracy in majority of the countires.This has become a matter of concern for a society we are leaving in as well as for most of the countries.

There are many reasons behind this.In this essay,will discuss main causes and concerns.

The primary cause is lack of funding and negligence of the government towards an educaiton.The funds to build an existing education system and to run the same are not enough.Due to this,children do not get advantage of the same.As per the records,we can find that most of the population has never visited a school and they even don't know basic reading and writing skills.A further ever-increasing issue is the cost of living,medical facilities and school fees.

Few private schools charge a hefty amount of fees which is next to impossible to pay for lower middle class income group.

The impact of the illiteracy on the society and an individual can be more serious.It can give rise to few serious problems like theft,criminal conspiracy,murder and so on. An illiterate person will have a poor living standards because of which, a family has to suffer as well.

All this can lead to a serious consequences for an individual and a society also.Ultimately,whole nation will suffer gradually.Finally,poor literacy rate can also lack of few professionals like doctors,architects,teachers,lawyers without whom nation can not progress.

The government should take an immediate action to overcome this and take all the necessary measures so that each person get a right to study.

In conclusion,the factors such as negligence by the government,lack of proper funding,awareness about education,cost of living,higher fees seem to be the prime causes of poor literacy rate.