Because of technological advances, the number of smart devices with numerous features at affordable prices has been increased, allowing human beings to either work or study from home with ease. From my preference, despite the problem of distraction, this development is overall positive for individuals.

On the one hand, according to opponents of this trend, the primary drawback of the work-from-home trend is distractions. This is because people who work or study from home can effortlessly access the Internet for entertainment during the working period. As a result, their final performance can see a dramatic drop due to the lack of concentration. For example, because the Delta variant of Covid-19 is getting more complicated in recent weeks, Vietnamese students must study from home through video communications applications like Zoom to prepare for the graduation exam. However, many students had trouble staying focused on the streaming courses presented by their teachers due to insufficient pressure they always had at school, leading to the increased number of poor performances in the actual exam.

On the other hand, I believe positive consequences this development induces must be highlighted. The first benefit is mitigating air pollution. Because the main culprit of this pollution stems from carbon emissions made by private means of transportation into the atmosphere, working and studying from home has led to not only an ever-decreasing number of vehicles on the road but also the fresh air indirectly. Secondly, studying from home provides students with incredible chances to replay the recorded streaming courses for reviewing in an effort to avoid missing important details. As a result, the popularity of smart devices loaded with modern features at lower prices allows individuals to work with each other remotely with ease, which helps reduce tremendous amounts of carbon emissions causing the contaminated air and enhance self-study to students.

In conclusion, I believe this development is positive to some extent despite the primary drawback mentioned above.