The number of crimes committed by youngsters has been increased at an alarming rate in many parts of the world and this is one of the pressing issues. Some people believe that the same punishments should be enacted for both young and adult criminals. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement to some extent.

On the one hand, proponents of this claim assume that heavy punishments offer a higher deterrence to those intending to have wrongdoings at all ages. This measure might prevent children from turning into crime because they will receive a severe judgement from the court. Moreover, children’s discipline should be taught strictly. A great number of older generations, these days, are grateful to their parents and teachers for educating them in a traditional way, including the use of a cane. As a result, most of them have become disciplinary citizens who devote themselves to building a better country.

On the other hand, I believe that as in modern society, treating young people as heavily as adults shows little positive effect and might pose detrimental consequences to individuals and society at large. The first reason is that many adolescent criminals had suffered domestic violence during their childhood and without an appropriate education they desperately turn into crime. This problem can be seen in Brazil where children are not only the main culprits for petty robbery but also the victims of violent abuse. Secondly, young citizens are not mature enough. Because of their age, they have not completed the whole psychological development. As a result, they usually have wrongful thoughts against the laws which leave negative impacts on societal security.

In conclusion, young people play an important role in the later development of every nation so that they must be raised and treated wisely and carefully. I believe that applying punishments for adults to youngers is obsolete and inappropriate. Every government should enact laws banning domestic violence and allocate resources to educational purposes for children.