It is argued that drug companies should be held responsible for doing research on medicines to help individuals in impoverished countries, while others state that gaining profit is the primary goal of these companies. From my perspective, I agree with the latter, and this essay will outline both views.

On the one hand, drug corporations may help individuals all over the world who are struggling financially by investing in research to develop lower-cost medicines. Because of technological developments and national aid, this approach has been widely adopted in numerous wealthy countries. For example, Pfizer, a world-famous pharmaceutical company, invested 500 million dollars in developing a low-cost malaria vaccine with minimal side effects and maximum effectiveness. This vaccine has saved millions of lives in Africa.

On the other hand, I still believe that the primary goal of pharmaceutical firms is to capitalize on their products, hence making money. Because continuous research on medications requires significant expenditures for years to completely develop. This process also strictly follows specific laws and regulations imposed by government agencies. As a result, drug businesses should gain financial benefits promptly to not only retain their existence but also thrive. On the contrary, these businesses would go bankrupt if their budgets were drained out. This worst-case scenario cannot benefit individuals in poorer or even prosperous countries, causing drug prices to skyrocket.

In conclusion, although drug companies can facilitate individuals in poor nations by offering medicines at affordable prices thanks to the application of technological breakthroughs, I believe that their primary responsibility is to make money, considering their massive investments in doing researching medicines.