It is argued that human beings should only be responsible for protecting animals that benefit mankind, rather than endangered ones. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement because all animals play a crucial role in the natural ecosystem.

To begin with, the extinction of a species can cause a disruption in the environment’s food chain. This happens because animals help sustain a reasonable balance among species. On the contrary, the disappearance of an animal can give rise to the rapidly growing or dropping numbers of other animals, which might offer pessimistic effects on people. Take the sparrow as an example. The extinction of this bird in many parts of China resulted in an outrageously abundant number of crickets, posing significant damage to crops in general and causing a widespread famine. This outcome killed hundreds of millions of Chinese people.

In addition, the pace of global warming has contributed to the disappearance of numerous species. Climate change can result from a wide variety of human-induced activities over a long period of time. It is true that the popularity of deforestation and illegal hunting has driven multiple wild animals into extinction. This extinction is a transparent indication of a relentlessly exacerbated environment. Individuals will most likely suffer irreversible effects if the environment remains greatly exploited and undermined. The main objective of people is to preserve the environment, which means the protection of all species.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that mankind should protect all animals from extinction because their existence sustains ecological diversity and a natural balance among species. Moreover, protecting all animals implies protecting nature and even humans.