Big establishment are people's choice than local shops. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, style of shopping has changed. These days people tend to look for options, where they can buy all goods under one roof. This concept has been in market for more than 3-4 decades. Some people believe it came into existence due to people's preferences and few believe it to be because of marketing techniques. This essay will highlight the factors, which have led to establishment of huge malls and superstores.

Initially, it was Wal-Mart which changed the way of shopping, and took an initiative and grabbed onto an opportunity by introducing the concept of “under one roof”. In our country, this was initially introduced by Metro and Makro. They were the first ones to cater the needs of people. People weren’t aware of this concept, as time passed and other market players moved into this business and awareness increased, the concept of local shops reduced day by day.

However, local shops still have their own importance, because large malls and shops are situated in different localities and are not in immediate reach of different people. Furthermore, importance of malls has increased with time. In past fresh vegetables, fruits and meat weren't available in different big marts, but with time the things have changed. In order to cater the needs of masses, new products have been introduced.

Nowadays, different schemes are usually introduced in order to have some sort of edge over competitors. In my opinion, things have changed due to marketing techniques and concept. however, people's choice and preference has acted as a fuel and has led to introduction of more big establishment.