Write about the following topic:

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Early education of every child plays a vital role in building-up character of a child. There are mix opinions regarding who is responsible for early education and building character of a child. Some people believe it is sole responsibility of parents while others believe school to be responsible for educating children. This essay will highlight importance of parents and school.

Learning of a child is divided in two phases. First phase is what he learns from home, education that is given by parents. It includes how to respect elders, how to behave in a gathering and etc. Moreover, mannerism is taught by parents. Initial years of education and how to be good in society are inherited and taught by parents. At this point, it is also important to remember that a child learns and inherits characteristics from his parents. These things are learned by a child, when he is just a silent observer. So, in initial phase parents are responsible to teach a child about the ethics and differentiate between right and wrong.

However, when a child enters in second phase, role of school becomes important. Majority of children learn from their peers, as they are unaware of what is correct and what is wrong. At this point it becomes responsibility of school to teach them about the norms of society, but on the other hand when a child is learning from school, role of parents is still vital. As parents and school both act as an institution for children. Therefore, it is important that these both institutes are on same page.

In conclusion, it can be said that both parents and school are equally responsible in molding child’s character. Therefore, in my opinion these both institutions need to play their part. So, that children can contribute towards betterment of society and prove their worth.