Boxing is a blood sport which often results in physical injury. It is inappropriate for this sport to exist in the modern age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

Due to the fact that boxers may incur injury during boxing, some people now believe that boxing should not be a sport in this civilized age. I disagree with this notion. This is because while boxing is performed by qualified professionals, it is also heavily monitored by trained officials.

It is known that only physically fit and trained professionals who are capable of absorbing pain are allowed to perform boxing. Before any individual can compete in the boxing sport, several tests and training will be carried out to ensure the sports person is fit enough to endure pain. For instance, boxers always undergo muscle test and it must be about 12 mm thick in order to qualify. If the boxers are fit enough and pass the test, then they are unlikely to suffer pain if and when they are injured. So, although it is true that boxers may go through pain, the qualified ones might not be hurt during and after the game.

Perhaps, it is even more worthy to note that boxing is officiated by referees. These physical and video referees are trained to observe when a boxing athlete might be injured, so the referee can end the game. For example, the game will be stopped by the referee if a boxer hits an opponent 10 times continually without a response. This means that the officiator has observed that the opponent is not fit enough to continue the fight. It is, therefore, clear that the sport is intelligently monitored by officials who will ensure that little or no pain is suffered.

In conclusion, not only is boxing performed by exceptionally trained sports people, but it is also officiated by referees who control the level of the game, and as a result, boxers mostly do not get injured as it is believed. I think the sport should exist in this modern age as well as in the future.