In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In developed countries, especially in UK, people move to old-age home because of the neglect and isolation from their children. At this place, not only they spend their rest of life but also nurses will look after them. But, there is always a question who should pay for all the expense for such places, whether the family or government? In my opinion, although little grant can be expected from families, authorities financial involvement is essential.

To begin with, the government has enough resources to afford the expenses on this places. As the inflation rate is sky high, although old people have some finances, it is not sufficient to cope up with increasing price of medicines and other basic needs. For instance, according to IMF, the price of medicines has increased by 50% and cost of living by 60% in last three years, which is much higher compared to their savings. Moreover, the government has more finances, which is collected from tax payers’ money, to support calm, composed serene life of senior citizens.

However, families do have moral responsibility to take care of their old parents. Unfortunately, it is extremely difficult to meet the end needs of their, while majority of them are suffering from chronic diseases. In Britain, for example, 65% of old people are suffering from serious illness that can cost fortune in hospitals for its treatment. Consequently, they rely on public retirement home facilities but this does not mean they are incapable to offer little money. Thus, instead of complete reliance on the authorities and putting burden on nation’s budget, families should offer as much as they can.

In Conclusion, although the government can utilize their vast capital to fulfil the needs of senior citizens, people should supply support according to their capabilities. It is a joint responsibility and duty of both to take care of old people in the society.