In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries in Europe, old people between the ages of 65-70 years are often taken to care homes where they are being catered for by health workers. The government finances these facilities. In my opinion, i believe this ought to be the family members’ responsibility as it will be beneficial to the nation and the elderly.

To begin with, families should be billed for their parents and grandparents treatments in a caregiver's home because it would reduce the financial burden on a country. The enormous revenue that is being generated by the government ought to be spent on germane issues such as finding cure to terminal diseases. In the UK, for instance, the percentage of the budget allocated to senior citizens in 2018 was 28%. These resources could be allocated to sectors who need more funding from the government.

In addition, paying their fees in this hospice is a way of showing your love. This proves that old age does not mean a person should be ignored or neglected. It is also a way of showing your appreciation. Moreover, knowing they are loved could also improve their health psychologically and make them more active. To illustrate this, a recent research carried out by Havard University discovered that senior citizens,whose offsprings are caring have a longer lifespan than those who do not have any close relatives.

In conclusion, families should be in charge of paying the bills of an older relation who is being cared for by nurses and doctors in a home as this will greatly decrease the pressure on the government and also let them know they are loved.