In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences

In England, elders used to change their place, to stay in houses where more people from the same age is living, and they are assisted by nurses. The country eventually covers their old care expenses in these places, but, is England or older's relatives who should cover their expenses?. I reckon, all their expenses should be paid by their relatives, but the country should cooperate to elders' families to arrange with all this financial support. this essay will discuss this issue using examples to support arguments and demonstrate points.

Indeed, the government is supporting in many cases elders when they decide to live in elders' houses, and that is a superb cooperation to the older community, because not all retired people or their relatives have the financial resources to resist elders' houses expenses, for instance a research made in the same country last year, reveals that more than 65% of retired people have pensions to support just their daily expenses, 30% can afford their daily expenses and save money and 5% of them does not have access to any retirement compensation. Therefore the country is giving a great aid to the older community sector.

However, it does not mean that elders are only the government responsibility, because families have a potential responsibility with their grandparents and in many cases, relatives have excellent financial conditions, for example, in the same research, it could be seen that the middle class is only 20% of the population, 70% is high class, and 10% is low class. Seen these results, it could be concluded that the majority of the population can afford their old parents expenses at retirement houses.

To sum up, although the retired people do not have access to a big pension, their relatives are able to support their retirement house expenses, but the government should give some bonus or incentives to promote and help families who are in charge of them.