Older generation, these days, do not like to be a burden on their families, hence, they opt to go to old age homes, when they are no longer able to take care of themselves; Occasionally the government pays for such care. It has been debated as to who is liable to pay for this old age care. While some consider this as the responsibility of family members, others opine that the burden should be taken over by the government. In my opinion however, I believe that this care should be paid by family depending on the financial conditions and the balance should be covered by the government.

Our parents and grandparents work hard most of their lives, without availing luxuries, in order to provide daily requirements for their families. This may lead to consumption of all their savings for the welfare and happiness of their children and family members. As such it is the responsibility of children and close family members to take care of the elderly in times of their needs. For instance, my great grandmother spent all her savings to get her four daughters married. Now, all her daughters contribute equally to take care of their mother and pay for special care.

On the other hand, keeping into mind the taxes paid by the elderly people, when they worked and were healthy, the government has the obligation to pay back to them in times of their needs. If the children or family is struggling to make ends meet, or the expenses of special care cannot be paid by them completely, the government should step forward to pay the deficit and ensure that there is no compromise done in looking after the elderly. For example, individuals pay a part of their income as tax to the government while working. A part of this tax should be kept for old age health care facilities to ensure that no burden is put on the elderly citizens.

In conclusion, the elders of the country are the responsibility of both the family and the government. Hence, based on the financial stability of the family members and the savings of the elderly, government should be able to provide part or full payment for old age home care to the citizens.